What do we do?

The Governors empower Shepherd Primary School in supporting and challenging its pupils to achieve in all aspects of life, by providing an inspirational learning experience in a stimulating environment.

We work with the Head Teacher, to steer Shepherd Primary School in the right direction, to aim for the highest standards for all children in all aspects of their time in school.

Please read our latest newsletter here.

Who is on the Governing Body?

  • LEA Governors
  • Parent Governors
  • The Headteacher
  • Staff Governors
  • Co-opted Governors

What are the Governors responsible for?

  • School Improvement Committee: making sure the curriculum is broad and balanced and setting targets for pupil achievement
  • Resources Committee: to approve and monitor the spending of the school budget; to oversee the employment of all those who work in the school and the safeguarding of children; responsible for the school site and buildings, including all aspects of Health and Safety

Details of the Governing Body is shown below

Name Category Appointing Body Term of office Detail positions of responsibility Relevant business interests School Improvement Committee Resources Committee
Claire Foad Head Teacher N/A Ongoing Headteacher of Shepherd Primary School None Yes Yes
Rebecca Whiteman Co-opted Governor Governing Body 01/09/14 to 31/08/18 Deputy Head of Shepherd Primary School None Yes Yes
Richard Booth Co-opted Governor Governing Body 01/09/14 to 31/8/18 Chair of Resources Committee Headteacher of  a local secondary academy   Chair
Tony Humphreys Co-opted Governor Governing Body 01/09/14 to 31/08/18   None   Yes
Diana Barber Co-opted Governor Governing Body 09/09/15 to 08/09/19   Local Councillor for TRDC Yes Yes
Oliver Parvin Parent Governor Parents 13/02/15 to 12/02/19 Chair of Governors Wife is Chair of the PTA Yes Yes
Sarah McAllister Parent Governor  Parents 23/03/16 to 22/03/20  Chair of School Improvement Comittee None Chair  
Moiz Ebrahim Parent Governor  Parents 23/03/16 to 22/03/20 Vice Chair of Governors None   Yes
Padmini Naicker Parent Governor Parents 07/12/16 to 06/12/20   None    
James Newman Parent Governor Parents 07/12/16 to 06/12/20   None    
Sarah Freuchen Staff Governor Staff 09/02/2017 to 08/02/2021 SENCo at Shepherd Primary School None    
Andrew Charter Co-opted Governor Governing Body 23/03/2017 to 31/08/2018 Class Teacher at Shepherd Primary School None    
Becky Workman Ex-Staff Governor Staff to 31/12/16 n/a n/a    
Gavin Booth Ex-Parent Governor Parents to 09/11/16 n/a n/a    
Puja Poojara Ex-LEA Governor Governing Body to 14/09/16 n/a n/a    
Richard Sutton Ex-Parent Governor Parents to 27/02/16 n/a n/a    

Agendas and minutes for all governing body meetings are available on request.

Please contact the Chair of Governors at

To see attendance for meetings, please click here.

Translate »